Skip to Main Content
Project on Government Oversight




The Politics of Contracting - Northrop Grumman

March 1, 2004 


Northrop Grumman is a Department of Defense (DoD) contractor that specializes in electronic systems, information technology, missions systems, integrated systems, ship systems, space technology, and nuclear-powered naval vessels. Northrop Grumman is currently under contract to produce the F-35 Joint Strike Fighter and F/A-18 Super Hornet for the DoD. 

Money Spent by Northrop Grumman
to Influence Decisions and Secure Future Federal Contracts
1997 through 2004


Campaign Contributions
(from U.S. Gov't)



*Campaign contributions are reported in two-year cycles.
** In 2002, McCain-Feingold (the Bipartisan Campaign Reform Act) banned soft money contributions. The United States Supreme Court upheld the soft money ban in 2003.
NCA means Not Currently Available

Senior Government Officials
Turned Current & Former Company Executives for Northrop Grumman
1997 through 2004
Herbert W. Anderson, U.S. Army (Ret.), Member of the President's National Security Telecommunications Advisory Committee, Former Member of the Defense Science Board, Former Member of the Secretary of the Air Force Advisory Group
Rear Admiral Philip A. Dur, U.S. Navy (Ret.), Former Director of the Political Military Affairs for the National Security Council
Richard L. Haver, Member of the Defense Science Board, Bush Administration Transition Team for Intelligence, Former Special Assistant to the Secretary of Defense for Intelligence
Robert W. Helm, Former Member of the Defense Science Board, Former Assistant Secretary of Defense (Comptroller)
Admiral William O. Studeman, U.S. Navy (Ret.), Member of the Defense Science Board

Senior Government Officials
Turned Current & Former Board Director for Northrop Grumman
1997 through 2004
Jack R. Borsting, Former Assistant Secretary of Defense

General John T. Chain, Jr., U.S. Air Force (Ret.), Former Commander-in-Chief Strategic Air Command

Former Rep. Jack Edwards (R-AL)

Former Rep. Vic Fazio (D-CA)

Admiral Charles R. Larson, U.S. Navy (Ret.), Former Senior Military Commander
in the Pacific

Philip A. Odeen, Chairman of the National Defense Panel, Former Member of the Defense Science Board, Former Principal Secretary of Defense for Systems Analysis, Former Director of Defense and Arms Control Staff for the National Security Council

Aulana L. Peters, Former Commissioner of the Securities and Exchange Commission

John E. Robson, Former Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Treasury, Former Undersecretary of Transportation

Senior Government Officials
Turned Current and Former Registered Company Lobbyists
for Northrop Grumman
1997 through 2004
Former Rep. Jack Edwards (R-AL) (Ervin Technical Association)

Former Sen. J. Bennett Johnston (D-LA) (Johnston & Associates)

Former Rep. Mel Levine (D-CA) (Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher)

Former Rep. Robert L. Livingston (R-LA), Former Speaker of the House (Livingston Group)

Former Rep. Joseph M. McDade (R-PA) (Ervin Technical Associates)

John Moran, Former Federal Maritime Commissioner (Jones Walker)
Christopher A. Williams, Member of the Defense Policy Board, Former Acting Undersecretary of Defense for Policy, Former Special Assistant to the Secretary of Defense, Former Advisor to Senate Majority Leader Trent Lott, Executive Secretary of the U.S. Negotiation Group on Space Arms, Executive Secretary of the Special Independent Review of the Strategic Defense Initiative Program (Johnston & Associates)

Firms Registered to Lobby for Northrop Grumman
1997 through 2004
Alverado & Gerken
American Systems International
Amitay, Morris J.
Balzano Associates
Bentley, Helen Delich
Bergner, Bockorny, et al.
Brachman, Marshall A.
Brown & Company
Campbell Inc., John G.
Collins & Company
Collins Group International Inc.
Commonwealth Consulting
Columbia Communications
Comptek Research Inc.
Dyer, Ellis & Joseph
Emanual, Adam C.
Ervin Technical Associates
Fleischman & Walsh
Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher
Hamberger, Martin G.
Jackson, Alvin B.
Johnson Jr., George K.
Johnson, Karen A.
Johnston & Associates
Jones, Walker et al.
Kipnes, Irvin M.
Lipsen, Zel E.
Livingston Group
McBee Strategic Consulting
McRee Associates, Diane
Miller Associates, Denny
Miller, Grant
Paw & Associates
Potomac Advocates
Powell, Goldstein et al.
Rose, Peter J.
Ryan International, Lawrence
Smith, Dawson & Andrews
Sullivan Associates, Frank
Timmons & Company
Tucker, Patrick
Walton, John C.
Whitner, Richard C.
Wight, Bill
Williams Muller Strategies
Wilson, Donald E.

POGO's list of the top 20 government contractors for FY 2002 was compiled by Government Executive magazine (Vol. 35, No. 12, August 2003, p. 24). The dollars for total, individual, political action committee, and soft money contributions, as of December 1, 2003, were provided by the Center for Responsive Politics. Lobbying expenditures were compiled by POGO from information obtained from Political Money Line and the Center for Responsive Politics. Contract award dollars from FY 1997 through FY 2002 were compiled by Government Executive magazine. In February 2004, DOD listed its top 100 contractors in FY 2003 and we provided those DOD contract award figures for completeness.

For more information about the revolving door between the government and federal contractors and about campaign contributions and lobbying expenditures, please see POGO's report "The Politics of Contracting." For more detailed information regarding misconduct by the government's top contractors, see POGO's Federal Contractor Misconduct Database and POGO's report Federal Contractor Misconduct: Failures of the Suspension and Debarment System

Founded in 1981, the Project On Government Oversight (POGO) is a nonpartisan independent watchdog that champions good government reforms. POGO's investigations into corruption, misconduct, and conflicts of interest achieve a more effective, accountable, open, and ethical federal government.

# # #