Skip to Main Content
Project on Government Oversight




The Politics of Contracting - Raytheon

March 1, 2004 


Raytheon, a contractor for the Department of Defense (DoD), is engaged in government and defense electronics, space and information technology, technical services, business aviation, and special missions aircrafts. Raytheon is currently under contract with the DoD to manufacture the Patriot Missile System and the Tomahawk Cruise Missile for the DoD. 

Money Spent by Raytheon
to Influence Decisions and Secure Future Federal Contracts
1997 through 2004


Campaign Contributions
(from U.S. Gov't)



*Campaign contributions are reported in two-year cycles.
** In 2002, McCain-Feingold (the Bipartisan Campaign Reform Act) banned soft money contributions. The United States Supreme Court upheld the soft money ban in 2003.
NCA means Not Currently Available.

Senior Government Officials
Turned Current & Former Company Executives for Raytheon
1997 through 2004
Maj. General Robert W. Drewes, U.S. Air Force (Ret.), Former Commander of Defense Contract Management Agency (DCMA)

Colonel James Fetig, U.S. Army (Ret.), Former Director of Public Affairs for the National Security Council

Vice Admiral Timothy W. Josiah, U.S. Coast Guard (Ret.), Former Chief of Staff U.S. Coast Guard and Commanding Officer - Coast Guard Headquarters

William J. Lynn, Sr., Former Undersecretary of Defense

Jay B. Stephens, Former Associate Attorney General, Former Deputy Counsel to President Ronald Reagan

Rear Admiral Robert C. "Willie" Williamson, U.S. Navy (Ret.), Former Military Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Navy for Research, Development and Acquisition, Former Director of Office of Program Appraisal

Senior Government Officials
Turned Current & Former Board Directors for Raytheon
1997 through 2004
John M. Deutch, Former Member of the Defense Science Board, Former Director of the Central Intelligence Agency, Former Deputy Secretary of Defense, Former Undersecretary of Defense, Acquisition, and Technology
General John R. Galvin, U.S. Army (Ret.), Former North Atlantic Treaty Organization Supreme Allied Commander - Europe, Former Commander-in-Chief of U.S. Army, Navy, and Air Forces in Europe
General Richard Hawley, U.S. Air Force (Ret.), Former Commander of Air Combat Command at Langley AFB, Former Commander of Air Forces in Europe
General Barry McCaffrey, U.S. Army (Ret.), Former Head of the White House Office of National Drug Control Policy
Admiral Joseph Prueher, U.S. Navy (Ret.), Former Commander-in-Chief of the U.S. Pacific Command, Former Ambassador to China, Former Vice Chief of Naval Operations at the Pentagon
Former Sen. Warren Rudman (R-NH)
Admiral Leighton "Snuffy" Smith, U.S. Navy (Ret.), Former Commander-in-Chief of Allied Forces in Southern Europe
General John Tilelli, Jr., U.S. Army (Ret.), Former Commander-in-Chief of the United Nations Command - Republic of Korea/United States Combined Forces/United States Korea, Vice Chief of Staff of the Army, Commander of U.S. Army Forces Command
General Anthony Zinni, U.S. Marine Corps (Ret.), Former Commander-in-Chief of U.S. Central Command

Raytheon's Board of Directors includes members who sit on the Board of Vertex Aerospace, an entity which Raytheon owned in whole or in part until 2003 when it was bought by L-3 Communications (the 18th top contractor in FY 2002). See

Current and Former Senior Government Officials
Turned Current & Former Registered Company Lobbyists for Raytheon
1997 through 2004
Former Rep. Edwin R. Bethune (R-AR) (Bracewell & Patterson)

Former Sen. Dale Bumpers (D-AR) (Arent, Fox et al.)

Former Rep. James L. Chapman (D-TX) (Bracewell & Patterson)

Former Sen. John C. Culver (D-IA) (Arent, Fox et al.)

Former Rep. Ronnie Flippo (D-AL) (RG Flippo & Associates)

Former Rep. Robert L. Livingston (R-LA), Former Speaker of the House (Livingston Group)

Former Rep. Sonny Montgomery (D-MS) (Montgomery Group)
Theresa M. Youngblood, Former Assistant to Undersecretary of Commerce for Export Administration (Piper Rudnick et al.)

Firms Registered to Lobby for Raytheon
1997 through 2004
American Defense International
American Systems International
Arent, Fox et al.
Baker C. Consulting
Blank, Rome et al.
Bracewell & Patterson
Cambridge International Inc.
Campbell Inc., John G.
Campbell-Crane & Associates
Crowell & Moring
Driggers, William B.
Ervin Technical Associates
Flippo & Associates, RG
Fox, Charles L.
GPC International
Jones Walker
Livingston Group
McCann Capitol Advocates
McDermott, O'Neill & Associates
Merritt & Associates, GL
Montgomery Group
MWW Group
O'Neill, Athy & Casey
Parry, Romani, Deconcini & Symms
Piper Rudnick
Potomac Advocates
Ritter & Bourjaily
Spectrum Group
Strategic Marketing Innovations Inc.
Van Scoyoc Associates
Verner, Liipfert et al.
Wexler Group


POGO's list of the top 20 government contractors for FY 2002 was compiled by Government Executive magazine (Vol. 35, No. 12, August 2003, p. 24). The dollars for total, individual, political action committee, and soft money contributions, as of December 1, 2003, were provided by the Center for Responsive Politics. Lobbying expenditures were compiled by POGO from information obtained from Political Money Line and the Center for Responsive Politics. Contract award dollars from FY 1997 through FY 2002 were compiled by Government Executive magazine. In February 2004, DOD listed its top 100 contractors in FY 2003 and we provided those DOD contract award figures for completeness.

For more information about the revolving door between the government and federal contractors and about campaign contributions and lobbying expenditures, please see POGO's report "The Politics of Contracting." For more detailed information regarding misconduct by the government's top contractors, see POGO's Federal Contractor Misconduct Database and POGO's report Federal Contractor Misconduct: Failures of the Suspension and Debarment System

Founded in 1981, the Project On Government Oversight (POGO) is a nonpartisan independent watchdog that champions good government reforms. POGO's investigations into corruption, misconduct, and conflicts of interest achieve a more effective, accountable, open, and ethical federal government.

# # #