Skip to Main Content
Project on Government Oversight

Good Government Award


POGO's Good Government Award is an occasional award for outstanding service in the pursuit of holding the government accountable to its citizenry. This award was designed to honor a lifetime of work. This award differs from POGO's annual Beyond the Headlines Award which honors an activist, journalist, politician, or whistleblower who has recently gone beyond gaining headline attention to positively influencing public policy.


Representative Carolyn Maloney (D-NY) 2010 Honoree

The Project On Government Oversight is proud to present Representative Carolyn Maloney, a Democrat representing New York’s 14th District, with POGO’s 2010 Good Government Award. Throughout her career—and regardless of which party was in power in Congress or the White House— Representative Maloney has shown tenacity, skill, and adaptability to enact her good-government proposals. She has been a staunch advocate for whistleblower rights; has fought tirelessly to prevent oil companies from shortchanging the taxpayers on payments for oil and gas drilled from federal lands; and introduced legislation to create a centralized database for contractor misconduct, which was passed in 2008 and the database went live this spring, a critical step towards transparency and accountability in government. Last year Representative Maloney joined Senators Charles Grassley (R-IA) and Carl Levin (D-MI), and Representatives Rush Holt (D-NJ) and Michael Castle (R-DE) as an Honorary Co-Chair of POGO’s Congressional Oversight Training Series.

Representative Darrell Issa (R-CA) 2010 Honoree

The Project On Government Oversight is proud to present Representative Darrell Issa, a Republican representing the 49th District of California, with POGO’s 2010 Good Government Award. Representative Issa has been instrumental in promoting government transparency and accountability. During the 2009-2010 session, he has co-sponsored a bill requiring the Office of Management and Budget to designate data standards for financial information reported both to and from federal agencies; worked on amendments to the financial reform bill that would require financial regulatory agencies to adopt consistent standards for the information they collect from the public; released a report detailing mismanagement and waste in the Securities and Exchange Commission; publicized documents such as an itemized list of debt obligations paid for by taxpayers through the federal bailout; and publicized the responses of the Federal Reserve to a subpoena by the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform. He also co-founded the Congressional Transparency Caucus, a congressional caucus whose mission is to pursue greater government transparency through education, legislation, and oversight. He continues to push for greater transparency by the Federal Reserve and the Department of the Treasury’s foreclosure-mitigation programs.  Since 2006, Representative Issa has investigated allegations of waste, fraud, and abuse at MMS, and sought accountability for MMS’s failure to include key price threshold language for offshore drilling leases, a failure that has cost taxpayers billions of dollars.

Senator John McCain (R-AZ) 2006 Honoree

Senator John McCain (R-AZ) received POGO's "Good Government Award" on May 3, 2006. Senator McCain has conducted oversight of numerous government programs, including his groundbreaking investigations into the Boeing tanker lease deal and the Abramoff lobbying scandal.


Representative Henry Waxman (D-CA) 2006 Honoree

Representative Henry Waxman (D-CA) received POGO's "Good Government Award" on May 3, 2006. Representative Waxman is a leader in government oversight. He has recently conducted hardnosed investigations into government contracting, and in particular into Iraq Reconstruction contracts. 


Franklin C. "Chuck" Spinney, 2003 Honoree

Franklin C. "Chuck" Spinney, longtime Pentagon analyst, was presented with POGO's "Good Government Award" on May 29, 2003.

Representative Stephen Horn (R-CA) 2002 Honoree

Representative Stephen Horn (R-CA) was presented with POGO's "Good Government Award" on June 17, 2002. Rep. Horn has long been a strong advocate for public access to government information. Rep. Horn is the first recipient of POGO's "Good Government Award."

The Project On Government Oversight is a nonpartisan nonprofit organization that does not oppose, support, or otherwise endorse any candidate for public office.

2005 Bi-Partisan Leadership Award

The Bi-Partisan Leadership Award was created to recognize Members of Congress and other leaders who work together across the aisle to promote a more open, honest and accountable government. This is the first year that POGO has presented this award.

Senators John Cornyn (R-TX) and Patrick Leahy (D-VT) are the first recipients of our newly-created Bi-Partisan Leadership Award. Senators Cornyn and Leahy have been combining forces to increase government transparency and strengthen FOIA. In their most recent effort, Leahy and Cornyn sponsored the OPEN Government Act of 2005 (S. 394), which prevents burying exemptions to FOIA in legislation.

Senator Cornyn is a long-time defender of an open government and has worked on other measures to fortify FOIA. While serving as Texas Attorney General, he led an open-government initiative.

Senator Leahy has consistently supported measures to strengthen open government and whistleblower protection. In the past, he has worked on other measures to beef up FOIA and has garnered bi-partisan support for corporate whistleblower protection.


Senator Patrick Leahy and Senator John Cornyn receive POGO's "Good Government Award" on November 17, 2005.